Directory of ITIL, ITSM & security services  
& software. A launch pad for the  
IT infrastructure library (ITIL) & ITSM  

 Directory of Software & Services for ITIL, ITSM & Security Contact Us Front Page

The BS 15000 Standard

BS 15000 is actually the worlds first standard for IT service management. It comprises two parts:

  • BS 15000-1: 2002 IT Service Management - Part 1: Specification
  • BS 15000-2 IT Service Management - Part 2: Code of Practice

BS 15001-1
This comprises ten sections:

  • Scope
  • Terms and Definitions
  • Requirements for a Management System
  • Planning and Inplementing Service Management
  • Planning and Implementing New or Changed Services
  • Service Delivery Process
  • Relationship Processes
  • Resolution Processes
  • Control Processes
  • Release Process

These sections define the requirements for an organization to deliver managed services of an acceptable quality for its customers.

Part 1 of the standard may be used for a number of purposes, but typically by:organizations seeking tenders for outsourced services; existing providers to benchmark their IT service management; organizations that require a consistent approach by all service providers in a supply chain; as the basis for formal certification.

BS 15001-2
This part provides guidance to auditors. It also offers assistance to organizations that are planning service improvements or are to be audited against BS 15000-1

The two parts align with the requirements of ISO 9000 and of course include a Plan-Do-Check-Act process. This will actually be a precursor to a formal certification scheme against which organizations can be audited. Both documents are included in the IT Service Management Kit

IT Service Management Kit   Buy The IT Service Management Kit IT Service Management Kit




®ITIL is a registered trade mark of OGC Office of Government Commerce

Copyright © 1993-2004 BC Associates