Directory of ITIL and ITSM services  
& software. A launch pad for the  
IT infrastructure library (ITIL) & ITSM  

 ITIL Definition. Directory of Software & Services for ITIL and ITSM Contact Us Front Page

What is ITIL?

The ITIL (IT Infrastructure Library) consists of 6 sets: Service Support; Service Delivery; Planning to Implement Service Management; ICT Infrastructure Management; Applications Management; The Business Perspective. Within these a variable number of very specific disciplies are described.

Although the UK Government actually created ITIL via the CCTA, it is rapidly being adopted across the world as the standard for best practice in the provision of IT Service. Although ITIL covers a number of areas, its main focus is certainly on IT Service Management (ITSM).

IT Service Management (ITSM) itself is generally divided into two main areas, Service Delivery and Service Support. Together, these two areas consist of 10 disciplines that are responsible for the provision and management of effective IT services.

For online training information see - HERE                      For the ITIL Toolkit see - HERE



Copyright © 1993-2004 BC Associates
An ITIL Definition